Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

SHO supercharger mod on Drwing board

Hey guys im a Yamaha tech and i just got back from our watercraft update class and my rep told me there is no way to mess with the supercharger, after some long thought i might have found the answer for any gear heads that wont to get in on it. The supercharger has an air density sensor in it, when a certain reading is reached it stops and more boost and power out put preasure. I thin if u were to put a resistor inline with this sensor u could pretty much eliminate the gov. Meaning more teeth sprockets, and larger supercharger impellars. ANy feedback on the idea or im just a gearhead with too much time on his hands lol

thanks for all the info you've been contributing to this site trueblue. Nice to have someone on the inside.

Trueblue,

Would you happen to know if they have limited this thing due to potential instability in the hull at higher speeds? Have you heard anything that would support or deny that?

It seems like they are going above and beyond to keep this motor in standard tune, more than would be called for if they just wanted to satisfy the liability issues of an easily modded high-speed ski.

And yes - thanks for your support to the community on this!

I guess another option is that *Yamaha* wants to be the one to release this beast... with future models.

I'm curious where they'll go with this motor - if they stick by the speed limit, they can't do much more than make it accelerate insanely fast and then govern it at the top. They must have gone to 1800ccs for some other reason than a marketing number in the datasheets (or not).

Quote Originally Posted by TRuBLuE01 View Post
    The supercharger has an air density sensor in it, when a certain reading is reached it stops and more boost and power out put preasure.
    Hey Tru, thanks for contributing to this forum. Great to have a Yami tech on board.