Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    +1

How about an 1999 GSX Ltd.?

Hi I am currently own an 1997 yamaha gp 1200. I put it up for sale and after that I'm planing to buy an 1999 Sea Doo Ltd. The current owner brought the craft brand new and mabey used it 6 or 7 times. It stood still for so long that the engine seized up. My mechanic tored the engine apart, replaced the crank with an hot rod crank, placed WSM premium pistons in it (I used always Pro-X in the past, thus I have no experience with WSM pistons) changed all gasket and seals. I've ridden several GXS but with the 800 engine. I used to own an XP720 and I love the handling. Is the GSX Ltd a good buy? I saw on the website of group K that they don't like to modify the 951 engine due to a problem with an oil seal that blows out of place when modify. I was thinking about a rideplate, intake grate, sponsons and an impeller swap. enginewise I'll like to keep it stock. I can buy the craft for the "deal of the century" and are really interested. But what are the flaws of this craft. How reliable are they. The yamaha I own now is almost bulletproof enginewise, but the hull tends to crack. Thanks for your time and I hope you guys can help me out.

Warner Robins, GA Home of the 2007 All-Star Little League World Champions!
    Well...here's my opinion...because you asked...

98+99 GSXL hulls will catch the edges of waves when riding wot in rough chop, hook, and send you flying. As I am a recipient of that occurance, fortunately I landed on my back and skied to a stop. I love the way the 800 engined GSX hulls handle, but the 951 makes it a completely different animal. Sponsons should easily correct it though.

Engine? WSM pistons and rods are the cheapest, and subsequently, they are the worst quality. I would run, not walk, from a WSM rebuild...he he!
    Did he replace the fuel lines? That year Tempo had a bad run of fuel lines.

So now you know. Cheap= headache...if you buy...you now can't complain when she blows...

+1