Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Chine Walker
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    598

    Does it pay to have the prop balanced?

    Are the Solas Concord props pretty well balanced right out of the box?
    For those who have balanced their's; can you tell the difference?

    Thanks,

    jp


  2. #2
    Duke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    10,004
    +1
    406
    I thought Solas balanced them?? They have the drill marks like they have been.

  3. #3
    Chine Walker
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    598
    Duke:
    Are the drill marks on the inside of the hub? Between the outer and inner flange??

    jp

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by jpa1300 View Post
    Are the Solas Concord props pretty well balanced right out of the box?

    YEAH RIGHT!!!--- worked on some that took over an hour of work to get right
    Last edited by ISLANDRACING; 04-08-2008 at 07:54 PM.

  5. #5
    Ya Boy Trevor bajaeater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    1,083
    +1
    19
    if u flip the impeller upside down you will see drill marks in it. solas from the factory do not have them as for having them balanced I dnt know if it really does much or even having them race finished. Ive been trying to find that out for years now.

  6. #6
    RUNWME's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Little River, SC
    Posts
    1,243
    +1
    1
    Its inexpensive to have done by a professional so its something I would always do. The hub could be heavy on one side, and cause all sorts of little vibrations and loosening of bolts on your ski

    If its out of balance, can also lead to increased wear on everything from pump bearings to motormounts ( not to mention buzzing in your throttle finger on long rides)

    You can a static balance at the field with a model airplane prop balancer or make one yourself
    Basically its a rod with 2 centering cones on each end

    tighten up the cones on the prop, and lay it on the balancer. If it turns automatically to one part to the bottom then it needs work.

    You want to get it balanced until you can touch it, let it rotate, and it stops in random places every time. ( meaning its as close as you can do statically)

    I have all the stuff, and still have it professionally balanced whenever getting a new one or sending it for repairs

  7. #7
    XL1200Ltd-Keith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    506

    impeller

    I bought one that was almost 180 degrees out of balance. It was this way out of the box. Carl repaired it for me. I'm sure he was referring to mine.
    Last edited by XL1200Ltd-Keith; 04-09-2008 at 01:30 AM. Reason: spelling

  8. #8
    If your not doing something, its hard to screw up. stlouisramsfan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Pontoon Beach Illinois
    Posts
    1,115
    I didnt want to take a chance... i just think it is worth it to make sure you know what you got as a starting point....

  9. #9
    Keith-- Yours was BAD!!! the holes that solas drilled for "balancing" were 180 degrees off.-- dont remind me about that one

  10. #10
    Duke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    10,004
    +1
    406
    Quote Originally Posted by ISLANDRACING View Post
    YEAH RIGHT!!!--- worked on some that took over an hour of work to get right
    Well I guess that answers that. All of my props so far have been vibration free, must be lucky.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-02-2011, 12:58 AM
  2. How much does it cost to have a prop repitched
    By sfackett0 in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-20-2011, 09:20 AM
  3. What does it take to get the Yammi's to run ...
    By MIARider in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 09-12-2007, 06:55 AM
  4. What does it take to go 80 on the stock ECU?
    By engineermike in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 09-04-2007, 12:07 PM
  5. Why does the SC have to have the Clutch???
    By 1 FAST VE in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 08-23-2005, 08:01 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •