Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

93 SL750 rebuild

Hey everyone. Pretty new to the board here. Bought a 93 SL750 off of craigslist with trailer for 300 bucks. The motor was bad of course taking huge chunks out of the top case as well as one cylinder. Everything else appears to be in impeccable shape so i'm taking a chance on it. Thanks to the help of Xlint, Beerdart, and Jetwheels I've really got a fighting chance at this.

Everything is out of the hull of this ski and none of the bolts were marked so I have a beautifully fun job ahead of me. Luckily I know all parts are there. This is going to literally be a step by step rebuild. If anyone needs photos of anything in its torndown state or as I'm rebuilding, please let me know. I've received such great help that I'd love to be able to give some back to you all along the way.

I've got experience with vehicles, atv's, small motors but this is my first time doing a jetski so bear with me. Here's a pic of the beaut.

\

She likes the bike. But the ski gets her wet!!!! xlint89's Avatar
    +1
    Did your engine arrive OK?????

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1

Arrow Trailer adjustments

Form the pictures, it looks like it sits really high on the trailer.

I suggest you rearrange the bunks so the bunk boards lay flat against the hull. Space them out as much as you can so they mate nicely between the chines. You want to spread the load across a broad area under the hull.

Also, the lower the hull sits on the trailer, the less distance you will need to back down the launch ramp to get it floating. At the same time, think about how it will approach the ramp angled trailer during re-load. You don't want the hull to hit any of the metal rails on the trailer.

BTW, do you have a work stand to put the boat on?
    Makes it easier than climbing around the trailer while working inside the hull. Less shin damage!
    Last edited by K447; 04-10-2008 at 07:02 PM.