Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tips on what to look for.

I am new to pwc's and am looking at a 2000 yamaha xl1200 ltd. with a trailer. Im in in canada and the owner says he has never serviced it and never had any mechanical problems. He claims he doesnt know the hours but he says he is the second owner and has had it 4 seasons and he thinks he has put 50-70 hrs??? So he says the the previous owner(2 seasons) couldnt have put more than him. I am new to waverunners and dont know much but he also said he properly winterizes it (fogging oil on plugs, uses air compressor to blow out any water and detaches a couple of hoses., removes battery,etc) I went to go see it and it was surrounded by 3ft of snow.Is this not good for it??? or is it ok??? i could see a little of the bottom and it was what I would say scratched, but its a 2000 and I figure thats what it should look like???? he wants 5900$ can, and by doin my research that is overpriced? Is there anything that someone here can reply back to help guide me in the right decision? PLEASE I could really use some info. I would greatly appreciate anyones advice!

Thanks
    Baumer

never been serviced and 8 years old....i wouldn't go for it unless you have the confidence to do a complete engine rebuild..or know someone mechanically knowledgable. It just doesn't seem right that it's 8 years old and never serviced once.
    Last edited by yami_rida#26; 04-12-2008 at 06:26 PM.

Red face Well it was owned by a YAMA dealer before he owned it!