Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Need Help 94 sl750

This is my first time posting and i hope you can help as it seems like there are some very knowledgeable people here . i have a 1994 sl750 that i purchsed several years ago . my problems have all been electrical as i have replaced the electrical box twice . my latest problem is much the same except this time whatever problem occured went past the box and burned a wire or wires all the way to the flywheel . if anyone has any info on what may cause this and how to prevent it in the future please help . as well if anyone has info on where i can purchase a complete wiring harness that also would be appreciated .

Thanks in Advance

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Quote Originally Posted by flipdog6 View Post
    ...I have a 1994 SL750 that I purchsed several years ago.
    My problems have all been electrical as I have replaced the electrical box twice.

My latest problem is much the same except this time whatever problem occured went past the box and burned a wire or wires all the way to the flywheel.

...what may cause this and how to prevent it in the future please help.
    ...where I can purchase a complete wiring harness?...
    Welcome to the Green Hulk!

How long (running hours) after the last electrical box change did this problem occur?
    Any other information or observations that might help us help you?

My guess is that you will need to replace the electrical stator assembly, which includes the wiring from the flywheel area back to the electrical box. Unless there are other wires burned out, you should not need to replace the rest of the electrical harness.

If only one or two wires are burned, can you determine what colors they are (or were)?
    The wire burn could be caused by a short circuit, or possibly a failed/shorted voltage regulator (LR-??).

Have you downloaded the 1992-1998 Service manual?