Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    There is no VooDoo like BadVooDoo NeVerMind's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Hammond, IN

    New Question GRP Motor

    Is it possible and save to crank the engine over by connecting it to a battery while NOT connected to all the electronics? I am rebuilding my engine and I want to test compression, the bendix and starter BEFORE I but it back in the hull.

  2. #2
    philip_gpr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    I think if you simply put power to the starter motor it will turn over, use the OEM wires or larger, the current being drawn is reasonably high

  3. #3
    Happily Self-Employed WFO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Houston, Texas
    Yes, use larger gauge wire.

    I crank them on the bench all the time no problems. I use battery jumper cables and a remote starter button.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. installing a new used 717 motor in a 2001 Hull
    By jarcynvicnchris93 in forum 2-Stroke Performance
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-19-2010, 03:48 PM
  2. New question for GP1200R
    By ramairformula74 in forum Yamaha Open Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-07-2009, 03:28 PM
  3. New from Congressional Motors
    By VaRedneck in forum Open Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-16-2008, 10:04 PM
  4. BRAND new Yamaha 760 motor COMPLETE
    By seatsR4toilets in forum Yamaha Classifieds
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-15-2008, 09:46 PM
  5. Roughly how much is a brand new 4tec SC motor?
    By Jeff C in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-01-2005, 09:00 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts