1997 Jet Ski Polaris SL 1050 specs

Yes. I am new to the jet ski scene. I usually just mess with sports bikes but just started gettin into jet ski's. Anyways i was thinking of buying a Jet Ski Polaris SL 1050(1997) and i just wanted to know some facts about it. For some reason google isnt doing it for me. Its mainly just for me but i will have my gf on the back sometimes as well. Just want to make sure that it is right for me to have some speed but every once in a while put someone on the back of it. Thanks. Oh and it has 145hp.
    Last edited by hokies222; 04-21-2008 at 01:56 PM.

Lake Mead Bum & BTLS Mark
    Welcome to the Green Hulk!
    You should be able to find some info here... http://www.greenhulk.net/forums/showthread.php?t=15562

Good info here too... http://greenhulk.net/forums/showthre...polaris+models
    Last edited by starflight; 04-21-2008 at 02:11 PM.

Click my Avatar for signature links, Polaris info
    +1
    Welcome to the Green Hulk, Polaris section!

For Polaris PWC, Google is not the place to go.
    Green Hulk is.

Technical information linked here.

Use the Search feature - there is a LOT of information in here.

1997 SL1050 was rated for 120HP, the biggest domestic (painted red) motor Polaris made that year. Polaris also used Fuji engines (painted blue) in many of the 1992-1996 models, and continued to do so in the high performance Pro785 model 1997-2000.

The SL hulls are rated as two seater, and yes you can carry two reasonably sized people. It really is happiest with one rider. I have ridden a friend's 1997 SL900, same hull, slightly less power. It had plenty of power (110HP rated) for the hull size/length, but with two up it idles with the rear deck under water, and can be tippy, especially if the two people add up in weight.

The SL hulls are fairly flat bottomed, which makes for a bumpy ride in rough water, but also makes for a 'playful' hull when the single rider wants to spin, jump, and generally mess about.