Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

2003 GTX SC not getting up to Speed Or RPMs ! Help !

My 2003 GTX S/C totally stock. It has 73.5hrs. and has stock prop and wear ring. It is slow out of the hole, accel. slow, and tops out at 48-50mph @6400RPM and thats it.. It runs smooth, Just changed oil (not overfilled) and spark plugs look good, Not getting any trouble codes or anything. The wear ring looks like it could stand to be replaced, but doesnt look too bad, and the prop looks ok. Im not sure what the problem is. Any help is appreciated! Thanks

+1
    i'm no expert but it sounds like a clutch failure to me.

my rxp went down to 6200 rpms and 55 mph when my clutch failed both times it happened.

EZ Dock of Long Island Shibby1485's Avatar
    +1
    unfortunately... i gotta agree sounds like your SC clutch is toasted.

is this the original SC clutch? if so, GOOD! won't have to yank the motor out on this one to fish out ceramic pieces on an 03 S/Ced machine.

is it still under warranty?

Yes it is the original SC and clutch. It is not under warranty.
    When I take off the air intake hose into the SC i can reach in and spin the SC impeller effortlessly. Should it be able to spin like this?? Is this a costly/complicated repair? Thanks !

+1
    no, it should not spin like that. You need a supercharger rebuild, sorry buddy.

it's a $375 dollar parts bill assuming the oil pumps and and engine covers are in good shape internally.

is it complicated? NO, but it's VERY VERY precise and sensitive installation procedure that is critical to longevity and prop functioning. Also requires a few *special* tools.

Thanks for your help!
    Now ive just gotta decide if i want to let my dealer take it, or try it myself... I dont want a huge service bill, but dont want to mess it up.

So should I get the RR rebuild kit from the 4tecperformance store ? or an OEM one? Anything else i should do while ive got the S/C off??

+1