Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Post New to the site, Opinions about SLTX

Hey everyone, i've been lurking for awhile and I regestered a while back, but this is my first time posting.

Last fall in October I had a 1996 Polaris SLTX 1050 given to me by my uncle. He had owned it for about ten years and he didn't use it very much. It was always covered up with the factory cover but it was outside all year, even through the winter. The ski is in really good shape though, and it has super low hours.

Anyways, I've looked around some, but what do you guys think about the ski? I looked through some of the TSB's...What are some common things that go wrong with this ski?

I rode it once since I got it and that was in October (chilly up here in Maine), but the ski performed flawlessly. I want to tune it up this spring, and I already have new plugs and a new oil filter for it. I'm also planning on changing the fuel lines and cleaning the fuel strainer. What else should I do?

I know absolutely nothing about the propulsion mechanism....What should I look for?

Sorry for all of the questions, feel free to answer as few or as many as you'd like. I am looking forward to speaking with the people on this forum, it seems like a great place here!

Mitch

Welcome to the Hulk! If it runs good dont mess w/ it! Do you run in fresh or salt water? If salt a good cleaning/flush is mandatory after each ride. Changing the fuel lines is always a good idea. Search this forum and most of your questions will be answered.

if aint broke dont fix it ,

but one thing that happens is some electrical parts have been prone to fail , which in reaction there is this updated kit

all i would say is change the fuel lines and check the top of the pistons see how its burning ,

the rest leave it alone untill you find something unwanted like a piston burning bad

propulsion mechanism you wanna look down the pump at every which angle an see if there is huge chunks