Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1

    Thermostat install

    Is it ok to just use SS screw clamps or does it need oetiker clamps. I can't seem to find all the sizes from the Riva instructions. When you take off an oetiker clamp can you reuse it ?


  2. #2
    HOSS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Kenner, LA
    Posts
    4,759
    +1
    29
    I would NEVER recommend re-using one.

  3. #3
    Legend in my own mind Sirhc7897's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Lake Butler, FL.
    Posts
    1,140
    Every time I have to pull one of those god-awful stock clamps off i replace it with a SS worm gear type...Much better IMO...

    Replaced all the thermo ones when I did it...

  4. #4
    Some worm gear is better than oetiker clamps ?

    I've just been skeptical about them because I had one snap on my SC. Went to T-clamps but t-clamps don't come in the sizes to fit on thermostat hoses.

  5. #5
    HOSS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Kenner, LA
    Posts
    4,759
    +1
    29
    T-clamps are the best hands down. Worm clamps are great,,,you don`t have to tightenthem to the moon.

  6. #6
    Legend in my own mind Sirhc7897's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Lake Butler, FL.
    Posts
    1,140
    Yeah, if you overtighten them they will break but htere's no need to tighten them that much...

  7. #7
    GTXX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    NW, GA
    Posts
    1,776
    the worm clamps can loosen up over time, the oetiker clamp will stay tight until you cut or pry it loose. I'm sure that is why it's on there, a loose hose clamp could be disastrous.

  8. #8
    I just had the Rotax thermostat installed in our ski, and they used worm clamps, no biggie, just keep an eye on them like everything else!...PR...

  9. #9
    EZ Dock of Long Island Shibby1485's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    9,464
    +1
    4
    i just got a hold of a Rotax thermostat today... i think i'm gonna go the worm drive route also and put it on my motor 2nite

  10. #10
    GTXX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    NW, GA
    Posts
    1,776
    does the Rotax thermostat have any differences in appearance from the stock thermostat? I'm thinking if it doesn't I need that instead of the Riva since I'm under warranty and don't want any mods evident.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. How-To $30 dollar 160F Thermostat Install
    By Kinchyle in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 132
    Last Post: 09-26-2016, 04:06 PM
  2. virage txi thermostat housing installation....WHICH WAY?
    By pwint80 in forum Polaris Open Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-23-2010, 11:58 PM
  3. RIVA thermostat install.
    By MIARider in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-23-2007, 08:20 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-09-2007, 10:33 PM
  5. Automotive Thermostat Install
    By Kinchyle in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 45
    Last Post: 06-23-2006, 05:51 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •