How to tell if the VTS is working or not?

Sorry i am new to this seadoo thing. I just brought a GSX 96 seadoo. How can u tell if it works or not? Can u just start it up on the trailer and move the vts to see if it goes up and down. Would it not work if it doesn't start and if u just put the key in. So what does the variable trim do anyways? I know it goes up and down, but what is best to set it at? Any comment will be appreciated thanx.

flyin' the friendly skies airbornexp's Avatar
    +1
    Quote Originally Posted by rxpx2008 View Post
    Sorry i am new to this seadoo thing. I just brought a GSX 96 seadoo. How can u tell if it works or not? Can u just start it up on the trailer and move the vts to see if it goes up and down. Would it not work if it doesn't start and if u just put the key in. So what does the variable trim do anyways? I know it goes up and down, but what is best to set it at? Any comment will be appreciated thanx.
    You can do both, put the key in or start it. if you start it. start the ski first then turn the hose on. The trim is for how you want to ride. For instance, if you are in rough chop put the trim down to keep the nose in the water. On glass, trim it up about 3/4 to get optimal top speed. If your out jumping wakes trim it up all the way and let it ride. don't worry once you get to ride it you'll figure it out. Its all about prefernce, it up to you on how you want to ride.

+1

how variable trim works

+1 , Variable trim helps change the attitude of the boat in the water.

* when the trim is all the way up, the steering nozzle is pointed up which in turn will lift the nose of the ski up more. Too high of a setting can cause the ski to bounce [porpoise]. in flat water you can adjust this up to the point where the ski rides smooth with no to minimal porpoising.