Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Carb cleaner?

Carb cleaner?

Im not quite convinced i should take my carbs apart and clean them, all seems to be running good, so my question is, is it harmful, helpful, or neither in anyway to just spray some short bursts of carb cleaner down the throats while the engine is running? Be easy on me, im still an engine noob... What about using some sort of fuel system cleaner?

doing that will not clean the carb internally. doing that would harm the piston/cylinder you are doing it to. its important to know the internal condition of your carburetors for the fact being if one needs parts replacement internally or cleaning internally you wont blow a piston. a bad carb will make that piston run lean. in some rare cases even too rich but that is rare.

gotcha, thats what i figured, just wanted to hear it from the experts... Ill try to build up the courage one day to just take the things apart and clean them.... hard to do when all seems fine.... thanks man

+1
    I have heard of folks running half the normal amount of carb cleaner in gas mix (like stp fuel injector cleaner) So if it says 1 bottle to 10 gallons, use 1/2 a bottle to 10 gallons and run a full tank to clean the carbs without taking them apart.

I will wait for the yodi (respectful plural of Yoda) to chime in, I have never tried this, but have read of people running Seafoam, stp, marvel mystery oil, etc

+1
    Check to see if you're running lean (piston wash). If you're running lean you know it's time for a carb cleaning.
    If the carbs are indeed impacted with schmegma no amount of carb cleaner in the fuel tank is going to clean it up.
    You need to disasemble and properly clean the carbs, it's as vital to engine life as oil.

+1
    Allowing smegma to accumulate freely is unhealthy. Accumulation of smegma can cause or aggravate a variety of irritations.