Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Ride Hard! aha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Covina, Ca
    Posts
    2,009
    +1
    11

    Speedo/Trim not working anymore...

    Hey guys, so I just finished putting my ski back togther after putting in a stage 3+ and I crank it for the 1st time and the trim/speedo is not working. When I put the lanyard in they light up but then go blank. The trim does not move at all

    The only thing I could think of is the fact that I installed a boost gauge and spliced it into a purple wire under my steering area. Below is a pic of where I spliced in.

    I have not tried removing it yet before I did I thought I would ask if anyone has any idea what it could be? I thought I could splice into any solid purple wire for power.

    Here is the pic of where I spliced into the purple wire...


    Thanks guys!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	mini-IMG_4968.JPG 
Views:	51 
Size:	171.7 KB 
ID:	72333  


  2. #2
    Kiwi spanner handler
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Christchurch NewZealand
    Posts
    579
    +1
    13
    did you just install the ecu? if so the trim and speedo need to be activated with buds.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Beaufort, SC
    Posts
    592
    i had to reset my ecu with buds for my trim to work. i also had a compass and depthfinder on my rxp, it was thinking it was a rxt

  4. #4
    Ride Hard! aha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Covina, Ca
    Posts
    2,009
    +1
    11
    Hey guys... yes I did just install the Riva Racing ECU. I did not even think of that. I guess the dealer did not activate the trim/speedo. Guess I gotta take it back to the dealer... sigh...

    Thanks guys!

  5. #5
    HORSEPOWER JUNKIE 9secZO6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Belle Chasse, La.
    Posts
    2,006
    +1
    1
    Since this happens a lot (no fault of riva's) I think Riva should include a separate "IMPORTANT!!" note w/ all race ecu's stating things to be sure are checked off in BUDS program for the model being programmed. It's just that a lot of the service tech don't have a clue...I know mine had to be walked thru on the phone and I still had to go back!! (no trim)

  6. #6
    Ride Hard! aha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Covina, Ca
    Posts
    2,009
    +1
    11
    yeah for sure! sooo annoying that I wont get to do any full speed runs today

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by aha View Post
    yeah for sure! sooo annoying that I wont get to do any full speed runs today
    It's cold and foggy anyways

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. 97 XPS Fuel gauge and Trim not working
    By jrea in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-09-2008, 07:54 AM
  2. mfd and trim not working
    By allpolaris in forum Polaris How To & FAQs
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-27-2007, 08:28 PM
  3. Trim not working?
    By YJSONLY in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-10-2007, 02:07 PM
  4. 2005 RXP Trim not working?
    By idizzy in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-27-2006, 05:41 PM
  5. Trim not working after winter
    By SpeedStang95 in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-02-2006, 08:24 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •