Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Newbie w/2 95 sl750s and no spark in 1

Alright I'm new to the PWC scene, I have owned a Seadoo sportster for the last 2 years but I recently picked up 2 95 sl750s in February. I've researched this site and many others religiously for the last month before I started my work on them. To give you all the background on them, the previous owner left them sitting for the last 3 years. I wouldn't buy them unless we could at least crank the engines. He got one to fire real quick but since he didn't have a battery he hooked it up to his truck to jump it(after reading the posts on here I wish he wouldn't have). The second one though wouldn't fire and we messed around with spraying some fuel/oil mixture down it and magically it turned over. So I went ahead and bought them.

Now to explain what my plans are and the problem I'm experiencing right now. I've already replaced all the fuel lines and traded up to the 3 outlet pumps. I've cleaned the carbs in one ski and plan on hitting the others tonight. The problem I'm experiencing is the one ski that we had to mess around with to fire won't do anything at all when I push the start button. I replaced the solenoid(not sure if its good either) already because when I shorted it out the starter would start cranking, but it would never fire. Anyways after switching out the solenoid I still get the same problems. My questions are below.

1. When I short across the solenoid shouldn't the ski fire up? or will the starter just continue to crank? (I did change out the plugs)
    2. Since the other ski fires right up, should I steal the solenoid from it to test or could it become damaged as well?
    3. If the solenoid switch doesn't work should I try stealing the cdi from the other ski that works?

I've read a lot of similar other problems and could probably troubleshoot it on my own but I'd like to get a head nod from the experts before I screw up both skis. Thanks for the help.

+1