Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Rocky_Road's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Florida Panhandle
    Posts
    826

    Does Sta-Bil affect the octane?

    I am running Premium (93) in my turbocharged 4 stroke MSX 150, and have been using the minimum amount of Sta-Bil year around.

    I suspect that I am having an engine knock sensor issue, which triggers my check engine light, and limits my rpm's.

    Can the Sta-Bil be reducing my octane below the recommended level?


  2. #2
    Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    near Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    36,593
    +1
    1,275
    Have you tried running a full tank through without any Sta-Bil?

  3. #3
    Adding stabil will not lower the octane level. It can change the burn rate of the fuel,but not enough to cause the MSX150 to go into override!
    My suggestion is to monitior where you are buying your so called "premium" fuel though. It is a common practice going on right now that Stations have been diluting premium fuel or selling 87 octane as premium grade. There has been alot on the news about people complaining and 20/20 has done some research on it and found 70 out of 100 stations in California were doing it along with several other states. Hate to say it but just because the pump says its premium does not always mean thats what your getting.
    You might also want to monitor when the light is coming on. If its at low speeds or throttle position, then you have other issues or a bad sensor as well. If you use "Polaris Digital Wrench" on it, you can find where the detonation is occuring if its actually deto from fuel!!


  4. #4
    Rocky_Road's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Florida Panhandle
    Posts
    826
    Quote Originally Posted by prochamp View Post
    Adding stabil will not lower the octane level. It can change the burn rate of the fuel,but not enough to cause the MSX150 to go into override!
    My suggestion is to monitior where you are buying your so called "premium" fuel though. It is a common practice going on right now that Stations have been diluting premium fuel or selling 87 octane as premium grade. There has been alot on the news about people complaining and 20/20 has done some research on it and found 70 out of 100 stations in California were doing it along with several other states. Hate to say it but just because the pump says its premium does not always mean thats what your getting.
    You might also want to monitor when the light is coming on. If its at low speeds or throttle position, then you have other issues or a bad sensor as well. If you use "Polaris Digital Wrench" on it, you can find where the detonation is occuring if its actually deto from fuel!!

    I have always been fueling up at the same Shell station...but will top off at a different location this Tuesday. It occured to me that Premium is the least purchased grade, and I will use a station that would stand to sell more (upscale), so that I have the best chance of getting fresh fuel. I also am planning to add a bottle of Octane +104....

    As for my issue, it occurs at 5800 rpm...and limits my top speed to that range. It doesn't matter if I 'gas' it, or get there gradually, it lights my check engine light at 5800. I can ride all day at this rpm, but can't go any faster, and if I back off, the acceleration is lagging. My next step...if the octane booster doesn't work...is to get a Digital Wrench readout....

  5. #5
    Rocky_Road's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Florida Panhandle
    Posts
    826
    Quote Originally Posted by K447 View Post
    Have you tried running a full tank through without any Sta-Bil?
    Not yet...but I am going to keep topping it off sans Sta-Bil!

    Got to figure this out...even though it is fun enough cruising at 45, it just 'kills' me when a Yama scoots by, and I know that I could normally 'smoke' him!

  6. #6
    MSX 150 Power sbronemann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Iowa City, Iowa
    Posts
    150
    I put sta-bil in my 04 MSX 150 and seems that it doesn't run 7500 RPM like it should. It bounces between 7300 and 7500 consistantly with no lights on or anything. I am gonna head out on Memorial Day if it's nice and see if putting a fresh tankfull of 92 premium will fix that. Damn that thing runs good though. Can't wait to ride it all summer!

  7. #7
    Rocky_Road's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Florida Panhandle
    Posts
    826
    Quote Originally Posted by sbronemann View Post
    I put sta-bil in my 04 MSX 150 and seems that it doesn't run 7500 RPM like it should. It bounces between 7300 and 7500 consistantly with no lights on or anything. I am gonna head out on Memorial Day if it's nice and see if putting a fresh tankfull of 92 premium will fix that. Damn that thing runs good though. Can't wait to ride it all summer!
    I have 9 days off, starting tomorrow!

    First thing in the morning...adding Octane booster to my tank, and seeing what develops. If that doesn't work, I will stop off at the Polaris dealer and see if he has time to hook up the Digital Wrench. I assume that he will know which trouble code is the latest...otherwise there isn't any purpose to doing this, before having any old codes removed! Wouldn't it be great if we were able to 'own' the software....

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Does anyone know where the SVR comes from???
    By PWCManiac in forum Yamaha Open Discussion
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 07-14-2007, 08:52 PM
  2. How does water get in the VTS box?
    By Shibby1485 in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-18-2006, 01:57 PM
  3. Does anyone sell just the thru hull fitting??
    By TorquePhoto in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-13-2006, 11:35 PM
  4. What DOES Abbott do in the garage????????????
    By WATER WOODY in forum Open Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-22-2006, 04:20 PM
  5. Does anyone know how the engine break in on new RXP works?
    By dre23 in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 01-29-2006, 12:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •