Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    To HE77 with Georgia!

GPS Suggestions?

I was hoping some of ya'll might offer some GPS insight.

I'm brand new to the sport, and have a couple excellent lakes nearby, but it's very difficult to learn the area when I'm sticking to the coast the whole time making sure I can find my way back so my gas supply (since my tank is <10 gallons, and I'm constantly turning to follow a large wake every couple minutes..).

I want a GPS for use on my ski that's gonna handle all the splashes and even short submersions in the water (Doesn't have to float). I want to see the detail like names of launches and markers and stuff.

I'm also interested in finding one that can do pretty decent roadway/street navigation, if it's no too much more. But that's only if I can enter the destination on the fly. It's not so helpful if I have to break out a PC to enter my trip details before heading out the door, as I do that already. I'd just like it to help me find detours and such when I need them.

I'm looking to pay ~$200 or less for marine use, or closer to $300 for something I can use in my car as well. Any suggestions?

I was looking mainly at the Magellan Tritons, 400 and 500, but have found limited reviews online, and they weren't the most favorable.

The Garmin units (Legend and Vista, etc..) are much harder to compare since the differing levels of capability are given different names as opposed to easily identifiable numbers.

What do you think? What do you use? And which ones come with good detail without paying hundreds MORE for the map data?

Thanks!