Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: 01 GP12R help

01 GP12R help

Hey guys, i am new to greenhulk but, a veteran at pwctoady.

Anyway, a few months back i picked up a 2001 gp12r and i have some questions.

As soon as i got it, i installed waveeater clips and couplers, oil blockoff kit and replaced plugs (all the general maintance).

After numerous rides, i have not seen anything over 60 on the speedo which to me is a little on the low end with the ski's mods. The previous owner installed a protec head, protec turbo pipe, arrestors and covers, protec ride plate and intake grate and the sensor mod(exhuaust temp sensor pulled out of pipe). I am sure it does not have the pump plug kit (or its improperlly installed) becuase it cavitates like heck out of the hole. Now, i have not pulled the pump to check this or if the prop is aftermarket but, the ski had 78hrs and now has 90hrs. The thing runs great and pulls really hard but, it seems like the top speed is a little on the low end.

could the jetting have been overlooked in the previous owners mod process? I checked the plugs after riding very hard and they were tan which to me, means the mixture is good.

i have played with the trim and sponsons and top speed stays the same.

Could the grate/ride plate be scrubbing speed?

Thanks for the help!

+1
    Welcome to the hulk..

Are your speeds GPS???

With those mods you should be in the low 70's. Search for ride plate angle and see if the plate is set-up.

+1
    If you are tuning for top speed, the first 2 things that you need are a good tach and a GPS.

The speed robbers on your ski are the Turbo Tube, intake grate, and ride plate. To give you any more advice you will have to get a good RPM reading and solid GPS numbers.

+1