anatomy of a polaris spark plug boot

My first post, hopefully "how to" is the correct forum for this post. I'm new to PWC repairs so I bought a Seloc guide and I've been reading (I have a 96 SLTX and 97 1050, both with 1050 motors). As I started working I have a couple of newbie things that are not explained:

1. When doing a compression test the guide says to ground the spark plug wires, but doesn't explain "how". I stripped both ends of 3 spare wires (12 guage braided) and shove one end into each plug boot and attach the other to the block. This seems cheesy and likely to come loose inside the boot. How do people typically do this on Polaris motors?

2. Can anyone explain how the plug boots are attached and what is the correct way to trim 1/4" from the wires? When starting to do this I have two specific sub questions:

a. what holds the plug boot to the wire? I "twisted off" the boot to reveal a bare wire and it's not obvious how the plug holds onto the wire or how the electrical connection is made inside the boot. If I had an extra boot I would cut it open and see. Is there metal on the inside of the boot that grabs the wire or is this a rubber suction seal?

b. Should I cut the end of the plug wire cleanly or do I need to "strip" the end to have extra copper hanging out? I suspect the inside of the boot has a nipple that sticks into the hole in the wire to make the connection, but I'm not sure.

Note: I am used to the old lawn mower style where the boot is just a cover over the connection.

Thanks for anyone that has the time to answer some novice questions. I did read/search and couldn't find these answers.

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    near Toronto, Canada
    Some engines have a spark plug wire grounding bar. Not sure why they all don't have it.

Circled in Red in the photo.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Polaris 1998 SLXH 1050 engine b.JPG 
Views:	520