Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Newbie here, few questions

Hey everyone, just signed up, nice looking site. I'm in the process of getting a 93 Seadoo GTS that needs some work. I dont know too much about the specific problems that its having other then its hard to start and it probably needs an impeller. I know that the owner didnt really do anything to it as far as maintence other then put gas and oil into it. Once I get it here at my shop I will be able to get a better idea of what the problems are. Right now what Im looking for is just general information on this ski. What size engine does it have? What are the specs? Any normal problems I should keep an eye out for? Whats a good source for parts? While I havent really worked on a PWC before I do own an auto repair shop and I have worked on pretty much anything with wheels from go-karts to diesel trucks and I also have a few snowmobiles that I've rebuilt engines on and whatnot so I am familiar with two strokes. Never dealt with a Rotax motor before though and Im assuming thats what this has. Well any help you can give is much appreciated. Thanks

flyin' the friendly skies airbornexp's Avatar
    +1
    First off, welcome to GH!
    As far as I know its 55hp, 581cc engine in it. You can upgrade it to the 85hp, 720cc I believe, with out much work.
    Whats wrong with the impeller? Was something sucked up in it? If your replacing the impeller might as well do the wear ring, (the brass ring that is around the impeller) and the carbon ring that is on the inside of the hull around the drive shaft. check the splines on the drive shaft also.
    Define hard to start. does it click then turn over,just weak turning over, or take a long time to start. you may need to pull the carb(s) rebulid them, and clean the screens in them.