Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Recomend machine shop and parts supplier

Cylinder #1 on my 96 SLTX 1050 burned up (pictures attached); I've been told because of running too lean. I removed the cylinder and piston and I have no idea where to find someone that can clean up the walls and get the right size piston. The wall has a couple of decent groves, so probably more than a honing will remove. I'm trying to keep the ski stock, so not looking for high performance parts and I'm trying to keep the budget for the project down.

I have only owned the ski for 6 months and have spend most of my time working on it instead of riding it.... I'm new to the jetski mechanic scene, so please take it easy on me

Many thanks,
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	May 2008 016.jpg 
Views:	44 
Size:	980.8 KB 
ID:	75259   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	May 2008 026.jpg 
Views:	56 
Size:	559.5 KB 
ID:	75260  

Morgan Hill, CA
    Check with Randy at or Jay at

Randy will be back in the shop on the 4th of June
    Last edited by 800AMSOIL4U; 05-29-2008 at 01:29 PM.

Campbell, Ca.
    Cliff, check for rod play in that engine it may be in need of a crank.

Any advice on what is normal rod play? This is the 1st cylinder I've removed from a jetski so I'm not sure what is normal.... I can wiggle it left-to-right a bit, but it seems to be fairly stable the other direction (around the crank).

I'm also wondering if there is any tips for removing any old metal that fell into the block without having to tear apart the rest of the motor. I'm trying to keep it to just removing this one cylinder. I purchased a used cylinder, head and piston on e-bay today ($150) because a bike/jetski shop in my area (Double R racing) said the groves in the cylinder are too deep. Ugh, starting to wonder if I should have spend the $1K and bought a rebuilt motor from SBT.

Hillsboro Ohio
    Pm Sent
    Last edited by TimAtkinson; 05-29-2008 at 04:23 PM.