Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thru Hull bearing replacement - slt 780

HEy everyone, just wondering if there are step by step instrucitons on how to change the thru hull bearing?? I am getting one sent to me this week (thanks shaneG) and will be trying to replace mine in the near future and I have never done it before.

I looked in the maunal but not very deatailed. Any diagrams would help too

thanks

+1
    1. Drink a beer
    2. Remove linkages remove the four long bolts that holds the pump on.
    3. Pull the pump and driveshaft.
    4. Drink a beer.
    5. Remove the rubber hose and carrier and shroud.
    6. Replace and reassemble dont forget the driveshaft rubber bumpers.
    7. Finish the six pack.

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Check the drive shaft splines at both ends while you have it out, and the O-ring at the impeller end.

Grease the O-ring and the drive shaft splines at both ends, and grease the new bearing carrier.

Top it off using the through hull bearing grease fitting after re-installing it all, until the grease squeezes out past the seals. You may need a needle grease fitting for your grease gun, if the fitting on the bearing is not a zerk type.

Use a good quality waterproof bearing grease. I use Amsoil Synthetic GWR, but there are lots of others.

Clean the threads on the long bolts before re-installing the pump, and use Locktite 242 Blue (I use Locktite 248 in stick form). Torque evenly to 18ft-lbs, in a criss-cross pattern.

Re-assemble the steering and other nozzle connections, using a new SS cotter pin.

still need help...got the 4 long bolts out....and now i see a cone shaped thing with 3 tourques screws in it...removed the cone...se a rear baering looks good.....still dont know how to remove the drive shaft?