Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Water4fire's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    New Braunfels TX.
    Posts
    10,062
    +1
    790

    Computer help.Data Recovery Hard drive?

    Guys my hard drive took a crap and I need to have the Pictures of my kids saved. I have been told I need to send it to a Data recovery place. But I have had quotes from $400 to $1700 bucks. If anyone has a hook up that you trust with your life. Please help me out as they are my 2 littles one pics.


    And I know now that I need to back **** up, so please don't hammer me about it.

    Austin


  2. #2
    ramnj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,713
    Try R Studio Software.

    Was your drive partitioned?

  3. #3
    Water4fire's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    New Braunfels TX.
    Posts
    10,062
    +1
    790
    Yes, it was, but I had my pictures on the same partition as my OS, so he tried all he could to get them and it wouldn't work.

    .

  4. #4
    ramnj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,713
    What I do is take the hard drive out and put it on another computer as a slave. Then I use the 'R' recovery software and recover just about everything.

    Do you have another computer?

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Water4fire
    Guys my hard drive took a crap and I need to have the Pictures of my kids saved. I have been told I need to send it to a Data recovery place. But I have had quotes from $400 to $1700 bucks. If anyone has a hook up that you trust with your life. Please help me out as they are my 2 littles one pics.


    And I know now that I need to back **** up, so please don't hammer me about it.

    Austin
    does it not spin up ? or did you OS just take a crap

  6. #6
    J3ff
    Guest
    Ok, here's two senarios.


    Assuming that the drive works and it is just "windows" that is messed up.


    Easiest way to fix is to just install windows on top of it self.

    To do this you just put in the XP disk, and install it again, but DO NOT, I repeat DO NOT DELETE ANY PARTITIONS OR EXISTING INSTALLATIONS. Also - Install all the files into "WINDOWS1" or some other directory.

    Then when u start it up, all the files will still be on your hard drive, you'll just have to go hunting to find them.

    If you PASSWORD protected your log in name and click "do not let other people see my files"

    Then sir, you might just be ****ed.

    Now, assuming it isnt spinning up........

    Throw that thing in the freezer for 5 hours, plug it in while it's still cold and see what happens.

  7. #7
    Water4fire's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    New Braunfels TX.
    Posts
    10,062
    +1
    790
    Quote Originally Posted by ramnj
    What I do is take the hard drive out and put it on another computer as a slave. Then I use the 'R' recovery software and recover just about everything.

    Do you have another computer?
    My friend that is helping me is a computer guy.
    He has taken the HD out and placed it in his computer and tried various ways to get it to work and no go. Different OS's and different computers.
    I am am a idiot when it comes to computers. Are there any questions ya'll want me to ask him? I will, but I think he has tried it all.

    .

  8. #8
    J3ff
    Guest
    Tell him to put it in the freezer in a WATER TIGHT plastic bag, (ziplock) and then try again.

  9. #9
    Water4fire's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    New Braunfels TX.
    Posts
    10,062
    +1
    790
    Quote Originally Posted by J3ff
    Tell him to put it in the freezer in a WATER TIGHT plastic bag, (ziplock) and then try again.
    How long?

    OK, sounds good, but I am just affraid that I may screw the HD up reall bad and then even a Data savers place couldn't get the pictures off.

    What does the freezer trick do?

    .
    Last edited by Water4fire; 06-25-2006 at 06:21 PM.

  10. #10
    J3ff
    Guest
    http://www.transparen.com/data-prote...freezer-method


    Actually I put mine in for 4 hours, but apparently you only need it in for 15-30 mins.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Computer HELP Please!!!!!
    By oklagp1200r in forum Open Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-18-2007, 08:38 PM
  2. Computer help/Question
    By NCHeel in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 02-16-2007, 05:19 PM
  3. Computer help please
    By Spike in forum Open Discussion
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 02-16-2007, 04:26 PM
  4. COMPUTER HELP
    By CRAZEDRXP in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-23-2006, 03:37 PM
  5. thanks for the computer help for the handycap
    By great lakes gpr 1200 in forum Yamaha Open Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-30-2005, 02:16 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •