Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Taking water, bilge not working??

Hello,
    I'm a mechanic in the military, and new to the forum. Hopefully I could get some assistance here. Now my two issues;

1) I have a 94 sl750 and took it out for Memorial Day, just recently purchased it. I noticed that when I was done riding, I had water in the engine compartment. Like almost over the electrical box above the battery.YIKES>>>>

Shouldn't the siphon system remove this from the hull?

I elevated my trailer and filled the engine compart with water. (above the driveshaft) no water came out. Under neath of the drive shaft is a little fin or something for the speedo. The clear hose that attaches to it was removed. I know water was coming in there also b/c water started leaking out of the hole once I filled the hull with water.

Where else could water be coming in, but not out?? Is this possible??

My question is why wasn't the siphon (bilge) system working? I was looking at it last night. I noticed some dirt and grime in the clear hoses that go to the jet pump, leaving the back of the engine compartment. I took my air compressor and blew through the hoses. My wife held a rag on the outside over the nozzles. There was a good bit of garbage that came out, not sure if that would prevent the siphon system form working at all though.

2) My trim motor is all the way up and it doesn't work. I took the motor out last night. Once I took the cover off it was rusted very bad, like to the point where I wouldn't work either.lol

I'm planning on buying a new trim motor, but here is my issue. I took my multimeter to see if I had voltage to the trim motor. My son holding in the switch in both directions. I had very low voltaged, like 1/2 of a volt! I put the lanyard in to see if it would make a difference, it did not. Does the engine need to be running or does the ski need to be in water?

Any assistance would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance. John