Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Info Needed On Polaris Genesis 1200 Carb

hey fellows.i am new to this site as of today and heard it was the best forum site and have a few questions.i recently picked up a 1999 polaris genesis 1200(1165cc carb model)waverunner with a blown out bottom case(beyond repair).i am not a mechanic but know a few things and pulled the motor out and everything off except the flywheel(just ordered a flywheel puller from sbt)and was thinking of getting a rebuilt shortblock from sbt and finding the crank cases and sending back my core within there 14 day period).is sbt the best for getting a remanufactured motor.any info on the genesis like top speed,quick or slow acceleration.handling,etc. easy mods i can do after i get it running and any tips on when i get the shortblock on getting back together easily and the right way.do i have to have a torque wrench.any info is appreciated.

+1
    Hi...welcome to the forum!

You won't find to many people here that will recommend getting an SBT engine. Some have had good luck with them but the majority have not. Personally I would never let a SBT engine get near the inside of my watercraft. As for places that you could rely on I would say check into Randy at Watcon, Sharps Marine or Jay at Atlantic Powersports. As for reassembly, I would recommend getting a torque wrench...I got a nice one from Sears at a reasonable price...but I'm sure there are many places you can get one. There are many mods you can do once you get it back together...you would need to give more specifics of what you are looking to get out of your machine...ie: better handling, faster top end, better low end, faster acceleration...etc...etc.
    Last edited by 32DegH2O; 06-03-2008 at 11:34 AM.

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome to the Hulk!

Do a search for SBT within the Polaris sections of Green Hulk. Opinions vary, but many feel that SBT is not the best option for engine rebuilds.