Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26
  1. #1
    Too many toys, not enough time snoopy'sbitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Flanders NJ
    Posts
    124

    sl780 runs like shi*

    Hey everyone, I'm back again. If you dont know already, i got an sl780 for free, and had to put a used piston and jug. Has run like a champ in the back yard, and finally got it to the water to try her out. At idle she ran ok, and half throttle not to bad, but at WOT the engine shakes really bad, and i could barely hit 15 MPH (just a guess though, MFD doesnt work). I took it out of water and it ran like crap on the trailer. Checked plugs, and cleaned them, but still no good. Any ideas why it always ran great, and just quit all of the sudden.


  2. #2
    ph2ocraft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Campbell, Ca.
    Posts
    14,100
    +1
    105
    How is the compression?
    Have you cut 1/4 inch of wire off the plug end and screwed the caps back on?

  3. #3
    Too many toys, not enough time snoopy'sbitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Flanders NJ
    Posts
    124
    I'll check compression tomorrow. I havent cut off the ends, and can try to do it after my compression ck. Do you think its rev limiter shutting me down early. dont have the display working, so cant tell if i have a prob.

  4. #4
    Lake Mead Bum & BTLS Mark starflight's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Boulder City, NV
    Posts
    3,364
    +1
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by snoopy'sbitch View Post
    I'll check compression tomorrow. I havent cut off the ends, and can try to do it after my compression ck. Do you think its rev limiter shutting me down early. dont have the display working, so cant tell if i have a prob.
    You can disconnect the tan wire from the cdi to disable limp mode. Just to test it.

  5. #5
    Too many toys, not enough time snoopy'sbitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Flanders NJ
    Posts
    124
    i'll have to check that. if I remember, there was a wire in the metal box that was unplugged, and i plugged back in. How can i see if anything is wrong if I dont have a display working

  6. #6
    ph2ocraft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Campbell, Ca.
    Posts
    14,100
    +1
    105
    Measure the resistance of the wire for each item that will put you into limp mode.
    Check the service manual for specs and testing points.
    Temp
    Fuel Level
    OilLevel

  7. #7
    Too many toys, not enough time snoopy'sbitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Flanders NJ
    Posts
    124
    Thanks everyone, I'll update with compression and the wire issue. I'll have to check the service manual on all that stuff, cause im not to sure whats up, and how to do it. Also, where do I attach the spark plug wires when I crank engine and dont have them on the plugs. My seadoo has a post to put them on. What do you guys do

  8. #8
    ph2ocraft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Campbell, Ca.
    Posts
    14,100
    +1
    105
    You can use wire with connectors and attach toground.
    I personally use a spark plug tester with an aligator clip so I can ground it to the head bolts. It also enables me to watch spark at each cylinder while testing for spark loss.

  9. #9
    Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    near Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    36,588
    +1
    1,272
    Quote Originally Posted by ph2ocraft View Post
    You can use wire with connectors and attach to ground.

    I personally use a spark plug tester with an alligator clip so I can ground it to the head bolts. It also enables me to watch spark at each cylinder while testing for spark loss.
    So you use three spark plug testers, all lined up and grounded?

    Alligator clips with some short lengths of wire will be enough to ground the spark plug caps. Just be sure the wire is heavy enough to handle the current.

  10. #10
    ph2ocraft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Campbell, Ca.
    Posts
    14,100
    +1
    105
    Those pictured wires above spell disaster.^^^^^
    I use the ones that look like the below photo and the aligator clip is removable so I can still use the tool in-line if I wish.
    Last edited by ph2ocraft; 06-09-2008 at 10:45 AM.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. genesis running like no gas
    By wmwbutler in forum Polaris Open Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 09-09-2007, 07:20 PM
  2. both skis running like crap!!!!!
    By hotrod_sxty8 in forum 2-Stroke Performance
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-28-2007, 07:57 AM
  3. My New RXT runs like Poop part II
    By 2006 RXT in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-14-2007, 11:30 AM
  4. First day and my new RXT runs like POOP!
    By 2006 RXT in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-09-2007, 11:16 PM
  5. Rocks went in the intake grate now runs like crap! Help!
    By GeoRXT in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 04-18-2006, 04:38 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •