Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

98 xpl top speed?

hey guys, i just got a 98 xpl and wanted to know in stock form, what is the top speed supposed to be and what kind of rpms. i was out today and i could only get a best run of 51.8 GPS. seems a little bit slow to me. also, i am new to the whole Variable trim and was hoping you guys could clue me in. it only seemed to be happy in the almost all the way up position. if i put it down it would start to lose speed and sound like a jump in rpms or a spin out. any help would be appreciated. thank you
    Last edited by MysssticGhost; 06-21-2008 at 10:15 AM. Reason: UPDATED

speed

should be around 62 mph . i ran my xpl at one dot above center on the gauge . what rpm's is it turning ?

Play with the trim I found you cant trim it all the way up I assumed it would be fastest this way found it went from 52-53 to about 55-56 by putting trim more towards middle. I also found rave valve selenoid not working was killing my RPMS to about 6400 Now with jet kit filters etc I am turning 6950 and maybe 63 MPH or so pulls nice

if the guage is reading right, i am only turning about 6100-6200 rpms maybe. i have tried to play with the trim however, it really did not make much of a differance. i mean i did notice the mph drop or rise when i move the trim but with it at middle or just above it felt like it got slower. what kind of things should i be checking for?