Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Ultra 150 starter/clicking sound and need a manual

Hello all. I am new to this and "limited" knowledge on the mechanical side - so, am relying on friends to help me figure this out.

I have read several posts on is what is going on and what I have tried.

Have a 2000 Ultra 150. Ran great the first few times out (this ski is new to me this year). Then just died while riding, tried to start and it just "clicks". The clicking is coming from the gray box behind the battery, which I am guessing is a relay switch.

I put in a new Odyssey battery, completely charged, checked all positive and ground connections to be sure they were tight and clean. Also checked the ground from battery to the motor mount. Everything is tight and no corrosion.

I have also tried another Interstate battery...just to be sure.

Please provide some input on what I might be missing to diagnose this issue.

Also, I was told the engine has to come out to replace the starter. Can someone please give me the "shortcut" way to change out the starter if it is bad...and does anyone have a manual for this jetski.

Thanks in advance for all of the help. Mason

Philly PA, Wildwood NJ, Indialantic FL
    1. check to make sure you can turn the coupler on the back side of the engine under the plastic cover. you might have just sucked something up and locked the pump so everything is locked.

2. to change the starter on that ski, blows, you can disconnect everything and just flip the motor up on its side and do it in the hull, but will need to disconnect a few things

same thing happened on a buddies ski, sucked something up thought that was it but it was the starter too. check to make sure you can spin it first, remove sparkplugs and it will make it easier to spin.

thanks for the idea. Have not had that suggested before. I will give that a try tonight. Someone else suggested a bad if anyone has some tips on testing that I would appreciate it.