+1

WTB a 05 RXP but scared of all the SC horror stories

I found a 2005 RXP with 27 hrs on the ski....it has been well taken care of by the original owner.

After reading around on the net I am now worried about the SC coming apart and costing me a lot of money.

My question to everyone is... what can I look for to check and see if it has had SC washer failure or is about to? Can the washers be changed myself or does it need to go to a shop? I am good with mechanics & my profession is a machinist so I understand tollarances and have the tools to measure them.

I haven't taken the ski for a test ride and wasnt planning on it simply becase of the condition it was in. Is this somthing I should do now?

thanks for you help

First thing to check is if the washers are gone or not. Pull the inlet hose off the Super charger and stick your fingers in there and see if the fan blades move or not. If the fan blades move or spin freely your washers are toast. The motor has to be pulled and be cleaned out. If the blades are tight and no movement your ok. But the recomendation is to pull the super charger out and replace the washers with the new metal ones. Before you have a washer failure.And your in a world of ****

Hope this helps

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr Len View Post
    First thing to check is if the washers are gone or not. Pull the inlet hose off the Super charger and stick your fingers in there and see if the fan blades move or not. If the fan blades move or spin freely your washers are toast. The motor has to be pulled and be cleaned out. If the blades are tight and no movement your ok. But the recomendation is to pull the super charger out and replace the washers with the new metal ones. Before you have a washer failure.And your in a world of ****

Hope this helps

can I replace the washers myself or is this something I have to bring to a dealer?