Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Power valves / clips / other pre-purchase questions

Hi all, newbie here asking questions that have probably been asked a dozen times before . I did search though, and didn't quite come up with what I'm looking for, so here goes. Great forum, BTW.

I'm still shopping for a PWC, but I'm looking primarily for a GP1200 or GP1200R. It's my understanding that the GP1200R has something called power valves. What do these do, and how do they work?

I have read about waveeater clips and couplers. I assume this should be my first mod, as in order it as soon as I bring the ski home. I will probably understand the issue a little better when I have the ski in front of me, but right now, I have no clue what the power valves are for and a basic introduction and overview would be very helpful.

I have also read about removing the cat. This is on the short list too, but i'm wondering how involved is the procedure (ie: 20 minutes or 2 hours), and what is the consequence of cat failure? Reduced engine power, reduced engine life, you no go now, or you sink now? If failure reduces power and doesn't fubar anything else, i'd probably let it go awhile.

I understand these PWC's are oil injected, and like anything oil injected, a certain contingent of enthusiasts lose the oil injection and go to pre-mix. I have read 40:1... is this a good mix? If I don't do this, what are the chances my oil injection fails? If I do do this, should I rejet my carbs slightly richer or make other adjustments to account for the oil displacing some of the fuel? If I need to rejet, what jets do I get?

Are these the only issues I need to be concerned with as long as the ski remains stock?