Seattle, WA

Lost 8mph? during break in

Hey all, I'm new to PWC and had a question regarding my new leftover '06 F-12X. I've got it out twice now and I'm breaking it in. The first time it got about half way through the first tank and the second time I got through the rest of the first tank.

Beings I'm breaking it in for the first two tanks, it has been kept under 5k rpm. The first time out, it was a little rougher as more people were on the lake. It would hit 40 on the speedo @ 5k rpm. The second time out, there were less people out. It was probably 10 deg cooler, about 65 deg F. and the water was not as rough as the first outting. It would hit about 32mph @ 5k rpm. I'm not saying the speedo is accurate, but I'm comparing its numbers to itself between two outtings. The two outtings were about 3 weeks apart. It felt just as fast as the first time though. /shrug

I checked the intake grate by rolling it 90 deg in the water and looking up there while at the lake, but didnt see anything clogging up the shaft/impeller. I'm not in learning mode. I toggled that on and off to make sure.

I was wondering what could be the most likely possible causes and what things to check? To check for damage to the impeller, would I have to remove the nozzle on the rear?

thanks for any tips

I build Horsepower
    Get a GPS to record your speeds. Never rely on the speedo for anything other than a reference.

You should be able to pull 6080-6180 RPM at WOT depends where you live, which I have no idea becuause you didnt post it in your profile for help.

Lake Charles, Louisiana
    Hi AXO959,