Fairlanex

Ocms Kit???? Read This First

Hi Guys,
    Before I begin here are some disclaimers:
    I'm not bashing anyone or anyones products.
    I'm not an engineer (I am a scientist)
    My results are just that, MY RESULTS
    Make you own opinions considering all avail info.

I had an 07 250x which had major GIO issues plus some others that were taking forever to sort out so I upgraded to 08 250X(Green)

To date I have not identified a GIO problem but I had only 5 hrs bfore today

After reading all the posts about the return line from the catch can and thinking it could be a problem solver (or preventitive)I tried an experiment similar to some others on this forum where I connected a length of clear hose to the bottom outlet of the can and looping it up higher so I could catch and collect any fluid that would normally return to the sump area.

Today I ran the ski today for less that an hour , at around 70% WOT and 2 bars fo fuel.

Air temp around 25C and water about the same (Its winter here in Cairns, Aust!)
    Fresh water and less than 1 foot chop

When I got back in I found the clear tube had brownish fluid in it. I was sort of happy I caught something thinking it would be fuel etc.
    Anyhow I drained it and heres what I found:

620ml of OIL
    and less than 1ml water
    I couldn't distinguish any fuel but there was a bit of a gas smell (which I consider normal unless oil level is rising)
    So will I be blocking that tube off - NOPE!

I don't know at what level the oil level is critical (SKIP?) but I'm gussing I wouldn't have been far off though the nature of a jetski leads me to think there would be some room for fluctuation.

I invite discussion from OCMS and anyone else interested.