Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

250 Ultra vs 15F ... why ???

Ok, I'm not a mechanic, just a jet ski owner, and many of you gear heads will be rolling your eyes at this post, but I am trying to learn something here, so at least give me credit for that

So how in the hell is it that my 04' 15F does around 62 mph stock with 160 HP and around 900 lbs of thrust, and my 08' 250 Ultra does around 67 mph with 250 HP and around 1600 lbs of thrust ? It is no where near proportional ? I grew up sailing, so I know that you are a slave of your hull to some extent, but that can not explain the delta. I guess it must be electronically limited , but why doesn't Riva or somebody smarter develop a chip or ECU that resolves this ? I mean I see all these external mods like exhaust, intakes, impellers, super charger improvements, blah, blah, blah ... why all of these physical mods ? Must just be software ? Seems to me 250 ponies should be able to push the 250 a whole heck of alot faster than my 15F ... do we really need another 90 horse to increase top end 5-6 mph ? Why not just add a larger pump and larger impeller to the 250 ... push more water out the back ... is that the issue ? I have a BMW with Dinan software that removes the top end limiter, advances timing, modifies the torue curve, and allows the rpm's to climb much higher, among other things ... does this exist for the 15F or 250 ... this seems alot easier, less expensive, and much smarter than bolting on all this aftermarket stuff to make it breath better. Seems like the HP is already there, it's just not being maximized. Please educate me.

Formerly Ultra250 TN Aquaholic6801's Avatar
    +1
    Quote Originally Posted by Skaneateles 08 Ultra 250 View Post
    Ok, I'm not a mechanic, just a jet ski owner, and many of you gear heads will be rolling your eyes at this post, but I am trying to learn something here, so at least give me credit for that