Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Chip in my Hull: 2008 STX-15F

Hello guys.. i had a little accident in the water last week... i chipped off a peice of my hull while pulling up to the boat launch... The ship is in the gelcoat and is about 1/2 inch long and 1.5 inches wide (horizontally)
    The fiberglass itself was not harmed or saturated at all..

I had applied some Marine-Tex into the chip and smoothed it out so that the hull resembled the original body line... I let it cure for 24 hours before sanding. Seems pretty solid...Then i painted it with gloss black paint.. looks nice..

However, i just was curious how long this marine-tex stuff has been known to last? should i be worried about it eventually falling off or wearing down? im kinda new to the sport, and just wanted to get some feedback

thanks

Ron

here are some pics..

BEFORE: picture looks bigger then it actually was, lol

AFTER:

Last picture is fron the bottom looking up.. it looks like the paint is messed up, but its just a reflection

+1
    I used marine tex. found at any boat store. west marine. boaters world. about the same size as yours. the stuff wasnt completely black but it smoothed out real nice when it hardened. i would use it again. 8 bucks or so.

this is the stuff here. rapid set.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Rapid-Set.jpg 
Views:	177 
Size:	27.3 KB 
ID:	80888  

+1
    Good job!!!!! Looks great... (lets hope it seals )

Quote Originally Posted by benjahw View Post
    I used marine tex. found at any boat store. west marine. boaters world. about the same size as yours. the stuff wasnt completely black but it smoothed out real nice when it hardened. i would use it again. 8 bucks or so.

this is the stuff here. rapid set.
    yeah.. i stated above that i had used the Marine-tex.. i didnt use the Rapid-Set tho.. i used the regular mixure (grey)... i used a 5-1 ratio, as per the mixing instructions.... came out pretty good..