Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 155hp or 215hp?

155hp or 215hp?

I am completely new to PWC's and am doing as much research as I can before I buy. Please read this completely before you answer.

My wife and I have both ridden jet ski's and PWC's in the past and want to get one for both of us to use. We both ride dirtbikes and she is perfectly capable of riding her YZ 250F. So in the arena of higher performance watercraft, too much power is not an issue.

There have been a few new models from all manufacturers claiming they can tow a skier/wakeboarder with no problem (this is where we are stuck). We want to get a nice watercraft that is capable, but will a stock 155hp model do the trick? I know the 215hp would be great, but can I get away with a 155hp model?

I am 6'0", 190lbs and my wife is 5'9", 135lbs.

Any help would be great.

Get the 215. Nuff said.

Waterford, Michigan
    A 155 will tow a tuber or wakeboarder, but you will always wish you had got the 215.
    Last edited by antoniodef; 07-03-2008 at 09:42 PM.

Yeah, if you can afford the extra power, go for it.

palm beach fl
    dont bother with the 155hp... Get the RXTX.
    A 2005 125cc dirtbike is capable of a good time, but a 2008 cr250r is much more fun... Just to compare...

South Eastern Michigan
    My story may help...

My first pwc experience was a Polaris SL650 when they were brand new. Thought it was great because I was 16 years old, and a the time it was one of the faster skis (50mph if I remember right). Rode for a year or so and then it was sold.

Years later, we pick up two Turbo Honda's (listed in sig, 165HP) and I thought D@MN those are fast, and still are compared to many others but I got used to the speed in a couple weekends (accelleration/top speed) and then it was just fun to ride... still fast and exciting, but nothing suprising any more.