Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

96 xp just beeps and won't won't turn over

I can hear the pump prime but the starter won't engage. I see all four lights on the instrument panel light up.

I've been able to get the starter to engage 2 times and then the motor will turn over and start.

But I can't make this happen consistently.......so the thing will just prime the pump?

Please help!

Quote Originally Posted by Tatorsalad View Post
    I can hear the pump prime but the starter won't engage. I see all four lights on the instrument panel light up.

I've been able to get the starter to engage 2 times and then the motor will turn over and start.

But I can't make this happen consistently.......so the thing will just prime the pump?

Please help!

Hmmm... Not sure what pump you are talking about. This year has no "pumps" that need primed, or that turn on when you put the key on.

Hopefully someone else can assist you. I'm fairly new to the sea doo world too. Just based on issues i've had since i got my XP, make sure the connection to your temprature sensor (Top of the engine, single wire plug in thing next to the aft sparkplug) is on tightly. Mine was loose and was causing my engine to not start cause it didn't see a sensor there. All i did was mush down the crimp connector a lil with a pair of pliars, then all was well.

Good luck!!

Warner Robins, GA Home of the 2007 All-Star Little League World Champions!
    The bendix on your starter is hanging up and not engaging the flywheel. Pull the starter out and lube the shaft, hopefully you can salvage what you have.

Now as far as pump priming? Things that make you go hmm....

Hah! you replied just before I did XP lol. After reading your post I clued in haha. He's hearing the starter spin up and thinking it's a pump. You're right, the bendix isn't throwing out.
    Last edited by Schwarzenegger; 07-12-2008 at 07:56 AM.