99 SLH 750 isn't charging. do these have generators or magnetos or what? help plz!!!

I purchased this from a friend of mine. Actually i traded an old Jeep for it. Anyway, i put a brand new gel filled batter in it.

it runs for a few days but eventually drains the battery down to where it wont' start. Charge the batter for a few hours on the bench and you're good to go for a few days.

You can progressively watch the voltage drop untill you get the LOPr (low power) message.

So it looks like it's not charging. What do these run off of? a generator or magneto or something? i'm fairly new to this type of engine.

the local marina had no clue and said he can't get parts for it.

any help would be GREATLY appreciated!

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Put a multi-meter on the battery posts, and start the engine.

If the charging system is working, the voltage should jump up to around 14.x volts, and stay in that range as RPM rises.

If the voltage doesn't rise about 12.x volts, it is likely you need a new LR voltage regulator (which both rectifies the AC to DC, and regulates the DC charging current. Start be checking and cleaning the ground and wire connections to the LR regulator.

You can download the service manual from here.

The manual outlines the charging system diagnostics you can do. I would suggest checking the Yellow to Red/Purple coil resistance, just in case the stator coil (located inside the flywheel) has gone bad.

Parts ARE available, new and used. Have a look in the Classified section, and the usual parts sources are frequently mentioned on many threads throughout the Polaris forums.

ya i'm reading lower and lower every time i start it and am not getting a jump in voltage.

I'll DL that service manual as soon as i get home! thanks! off hand, do you know if i have to pull the motor to change that out? my marina thought they would have to.