Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: 3/4 throttle

  1. #1
    RHeller1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    192

    3/4 throttle

    Sorry guys for the dumb questions...I am new to this whole jetski thing. I just bought a 2000 gp1200r had my carbs rebuilt by OSideBill(Fantastic job I might add!). So I took it on its first real test ride this weekend since buying it. goes 63mph which I am very happy with. My question is, after I get to 3/4 throttle, there really is nothing left, RPM's dont go any higher, speed doesnt accelerate any more. Is this normal or do I need some adjusting.


  2. #2
    what are your max RPM`s?

  3. #3
    RHeller1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    192
    Its hard to get an exact number since I am using the factory tach, but its right about 7000 +/-

  4. #4
    WATER WOODY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Minden, Nevada, United States
    Posts
    10,664
    +1
    11
    What mods do you have?

  5. #5
    RHeller1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    192
    All I have done is a D-Plate/chip, worx intake grate, removed oil pump and reworked carbs from Osidebill. I bought it with alot of fuel issues, it would barely idle. sent the carbs out and replaced fuel lines and filter. Finally got to test it out. Ran great, but I really have nothing to compare it to since this is my first ski.

  6. #6
    WATER WOODY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Minden, Nevada, United States
    Posts
    10,664
    +1
    11
    You will loose speed with the d plate and worx grate.Whats the fuel level on these runs and were you just sitting up on the seat normal riding position.

  7. #7
    RHeller1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    192
    fuel level is 4 bars and sitting normal...

  8. #8
    can you verify that the carbs are opening all the way with just a little slack in the cable still?

  9. #9
    WATER WOODY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Minden, Nevada, United States
    Posts
    10,664
    +1
    11
    Just re-read your post.Check throttle cable for slack when closed and make sure they open up all the way like PR suggested.One thing at a time.

  10. #10
    RHeller1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    192
    the cable is pulling the the pulley all the way. I gave it full throttle with the engine off and then tried to move the pulley on the carb further, it was maxed out. as far as seeing if the carbs are opening all the way...hmmm, no I haven't, but I would have to assume(which could get me in trouble) that OsideBill checked this when he redid them. I will have to remove the stinger and get a mirror or something to look into the carbs to check...

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Procedure for swapping ECUs and Throttle Bodies?
    By Jarrett in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-29-2006, 12:40 AM
  2. how do u tightin up the throttle cable
    By PAINKILLER in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-06-2005, 07:57 PM
  3. Throttle cable adjustment after finger throttle install?
    By Griff350 in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-19-2005, 02:49 AM
  4. finger throttle
    By rxpblast in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 06-20-2005, 02:11 PM
  5. UMI Throttle Trigger
    By 1FastTrespiper in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 06-18-2005, 08:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •