Smile Uggh 94 SL750 3650RPM

Hey;
    I got a 94 SL750 that is having problems. It will only hit 3650 rpmís and itís lagging at that. I am a newbie sort of and yes, I have read almost every post I can before putting this up. I appreciate any advice in advance. Oh, I also downloaded the manual and read most of it including troubleshooting.

What I have done so far:
    1) Replaced fuel pump with 3-line Mikuni
    2) Tested compression, all show 120
    3) Replaced fuel filter
    4) removed auto-cock thing
    5) Replaced spark plugs bpr7es (sparks on all 3)
    6) Kicked and screamed a bunch, talked to it german, French and English, no luck there either

Here is what happens:
    1) It starts with choke on, smokes a bit
    2) If I give it full throttle it usually stalls
    3) Will restart if I choke it

Here are some other notes:
    1) When I remove the flame arrestor cover there isnít anything in it, just the carb openings, is this right?
    2) The lcd screen works
    3) If it stalls I need to choke it again to start it
    4) I still believe itís a fuel issue but I am getting into areaís I donít know much about

What else to check. Don't know much about the electrical but I am sure I could figure it out.

Thanks
    JoN W

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    My guess is that you need to pull the carbs apart and clean them up inside.

Replace the rest of the fuel lines, including those inside the tank.

Reset the carb adjusting screws to factory specs.

While you have the carbs off, check the condition of all the reed petals. Also check the crank index, just to be sure that isn't out of whack.

There should be a flat metal plate, full of holes, covering the bottom of the flame arrestor over the carb openings. It is the metal plate that stops a backfire flame from getting out into the hull interior.

She likes the bike. But the ski gets her wet!!!! xlint89's Avatar
    +1