2001 Polaris Virage starting problems

Hello everyone! I'm glad to find this site..Newbie here. I recently started to help a friend with his 2001 Virage. I'm mechanical inclined but not PWC inclined. So here it goes.
    The Virage had been sitting for a year. I recomended he drain the gas. Tried to start it..but it wouldnt(No spark). So i replaced the ignition coil..it started right up..but once in the water, it would bog out at 3000rpms. After reading a few postings..I rebuilt the carb and fuel lines. It ran great! For a few hours. What i didnt know was that the oil tank had a leak on the top. Where the sensor is? Eventhough the gauge says half full..it was empty and the engine shut off. I dont think the engine blew because it didnt lock up or make any strange noise. So we added oil..but nothing..no spark.. It cranks but nothing.. Did we blow the coil? Is there a sensor saying for it not to start up? I checked the black box and there are no blown fuses and the reset switch is not pushed out either.. I'm stumped. Any help would be great.. Thanks in advance

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome to the Hulk!

Have you confirmed you have in excess of 10.6 volts at the battery posts, measured with a multi-meter, during cranking?

Really should be 11.0 volts or better.

If not OVER 10.6 volts during cranking, then install a new/healthy battery.

Update...When we rebuilt the carb, we bought a new battery..perhaps the battery is not giving enough cranking power?

+1
    What voltage do you have during cranking?

That is the definition of a good battery - one that delivers voltage while under heavy load. If it really is a new, charged battery, you should have well over 11.0 volts during cranking.

Well, according to the voltage on the instrument panel..it indicates 11.5-12.2

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by scotty771 View Post
    Well, according to the voltage on the instrument panel..it indicates 11.5-12.2