Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Need help removing domes

Hey everyone, I'm new here and thought I would ask for some help. I am trying to remove the domes from my 2000 Pro 1200 to take a look at the inside because the engine is locked. Is there any trick to getting them off? I have removed the four bolts on the red dome cover and I can turn them like a screw (left or right) with my hands, but they will not lift up off the cylinders. Any advice? Am I doing something wrong? I am new to these engines, but not new to this kind of work, as I do all my own work on my race car (522whp Nissan). Any help would be appreciated, I had a few hours to work on it this morning and I can't get the covers off. Thanks!

+1
    Hi Justin, Welcome to Green Hulk!
    Sorry for the long wait for a responce.

I assume you have the water rail removed ,if you can twist the red dome cover.
    The cover has 2 o-rings,1 between the cover and cylinder,the other is between the spark plug opening and the cover-that silver/aluminum is the head. I would have to say the o-ring is stuck to the head.
    Keep pulling up and twisting,try some WD-40,it will pop off.

Quote Originally Posted by casey67 View Post
    Hi Justin, Welcome to Green Hulk!
    Sorry for the long wait for a responce.

I assume you have the water rail removed ,if you can twist the red dome cover.
    The cover has 2 o-rings,1 between the cover and cylinder,the other is between the spark plug opening and the cover-that silver/aluminum is the head. I would have to say the o-ring is stuck to the head.
    Keep pulling up and twisting,try some WD-40,it will pop off.