New to skis need help.

I've got a 93 SL650, and I've got some big problems. I'm new to skis, never messed with them before.

I've got a problem with cylinder 3 (the far rear cylinder) Ran the ski for a while and ended up burning a hole in the piston.

So for what I gather from reading here is:

- I need to get a new 3-outlet fuel pump. (where can I get one?)
    - I think I'm going to do away with the oil injection. (I like keeping my mind at ease)
    - Sounds like I should do a leak down test, is there anywhere that has instructions on this?

Thanks for the help.

She likes the bike. But the ski gets her wet!!!! xlint89's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome to the Hulk CF.

John Zigler has the triple outlet pump. (member here)

Then download the manual in the tech section and follow the instructions for testing in it.

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome to the Hulk!

Unless the oil pump is giving you trouble, you probably don't need to worry about it. They are fairly reliable, just make sure the oil hoses are in good shape, and change the in-line oil filter if your model has one.

Service manual is here.

Thanks for the quick responses.

What would cause a hole in the piston on the 3rd cylinder? Everything I have read here says that your most likely to burn a hole in the 1st one at the front of the ski.

I'll check the oil pump and see whats going on there. I know that this ski has sat for a long time before I got ahold of it. I'll check the oil lines and so forth.

I've got a service manual for it, though it doesn't really say much about what I want to look up. I'll download that manual in the link and see what I can find there.

What is Johns name on here? Is it just John Zigler, or does he go by something else?
    Last edited by CalledFollower; 07-24-2008 at 09:49 AM.

+1

What do I need to do about the piston? Can I swap it out with a new one? and where can I get a new piston?

I e-mailed John about the fuel pump.