Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

+1

2003 Genesis trouble! HELP!!!

Ok fellas need your help. First of all this is my first post and I must say after reading some posts here, you all are first class! Lots of good people here and valuable info. Here is my stroy!
    I am a tinkerer. I love to work on stuff. I am an aircraft mechanic and am pretty technically minded. Last night I was reading the local paper and an ad was run for an 03 Genesis for parts. I called, it was clean with 80 hours, and the owner said the dealer said it had a bad EMM. But it wasn't a Polaris dealer. So it has me wondering, maybe fuel, ignition, wiring, etc... Long story short, got it home tried to start and it misfires, back-fires and will not start. It tries to but, seems like no spark or timing systems. One huge backfire that scared my cat to the next county!! Do I assume EMM, something else? I have read a little about the digital wrench, dont know much about it, cost, etc.. Not afraid to use it, just dont have it. Does it store fault codes? Anyway to pull them if it does without DW? Looking forward to working with ya'll. If anyone is close to Granbury,TX and wants to lend a hand, gas $ and beer will be involved. Thanks in advance.
    Nik

+1
    UPDATE: