input please. '96 slt 780 limp mode...

Start off by saying hi to everyone im new to the PWC community. Just a week ago i purchased a '97 kawasaki STS 750 which has proved itself to me. Along with that I got a '96 SLT 780 which is to be honest making my head hurt.

Point of the post is the SLT is in its Low fuel limp mode, the MFD hasn't worked, it sounds like something in the MFD is broke. I pulled it out and notcied that it makes a rattling sound like a bad light buld. Then traced down to discover the red/purple wire had been cut. I reconnected that nothing, check fuses nothing. Thats when I discoverd the issue of the safe mode. Idles great, revs up great new plugs, compression, gas all good. Full throttle, sounds like a drag car ready to launch at the track. in the water its just sunday driving. I've been all over the web trying to find an answer on hot to bypass the LR54. I've read it's just cutting the grey wire, it's cutting out the fuel sender and splicing a 100ohm resister, just cutting a connecting no resister. I've tried everything and would greatly appreciate if someone could tell me exactly how to do the bypass. If any one could help that would be awesome.
    Thanx

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Both the oil and gas fuel senders are marine standard resistances;
    33 ohms from the Blue (oil) or Pink (gas) wire to ground means full, 240 ohms to ground means empty.

Connect a 33 ohm resistor between the Pink (for fuel) wire and the black wire, and disconnect the actual sender. That should stop the low fuel signal. Most guys do the resistor install inside the wiring box, rather than at the tank.

If you can, get the MFD working. It really does help you keep tabs on the engine, and a low oil warning is better than a seized engine. A low fuel warning is better than getting stranded.

Have you checked the ground for the MFD?