Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

2003 GTX SC Oil Warning/Overheating/White Smoke

Just bought a 03 GTX SC with 24 hours on it and I have a few concerns. When I start it up after it has sat for about 18 hours the Oil Warning comes on if I rev it over approx 2500 RPM. If I let it idle for about 10 min and slowly increase speed the problem goes away and it runs fine, gets up about 59 MPH without a problem. Another problem I had was when I attempted to pull a wakeboarder which resulted in a High Temp warming and white smoke leaving the rear of the ski. I immediately shut it down, and then started it up a few minutes later and it ran fine, no white smoke. The High Temp warning came up again the next day from riding it around at higher RPMs. This can't be normal. I have rented SeeDoos before and never had these issues. Has anyone heard of similar problems and what was done to fix them, keeping in mind I'm no mechanic.

Well, it could be the Oil Pressure Sensor, or it might be low oil pressure. The sensor is around $25 and I would change it first and see if the alarm goes away. White smoke is a sign of water in the exhaust, either from the antifreeze or from the cooling water. I would work on the OPS alarm first, but check to see if you are loosing antifreeze... Ron

Thanks for the reply. Coolant was low. Went to dealership and bought some coolant and oil. Asked what they thought of my problem. First off they said that a 2003 GTX SC should be able to pull a 185 LB wakeboarder out of the water no problem instead of struggling and overheating like mine did. Then they said white smoke means that one or more of my pistons could be damaged and I may need new rings. I'm going to take it out this weekend, ride it carefully, see if it loses coolant, watch for smoke, and double check the oil. Is it probable that I have damaged pistons and rings, or is it the dealership trying to squeeze some cash out of me?

pistons and rings will not cause WHITE smoke... leaking head gasket?