Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

97 GTX Won't Crank

Ok I am new to this but getting frustrated just the same. Long and probably should be two Posts.

I bought a couple trailer queens with unknown history and no batteries.

First one is up and running. Kind of at least (more on that later).

Second ski won't crank. (starter engages but doesn't crank)

- First the starter was bad and now has been replaced (Turns over without plugs installed)
    - Replaced the negative cable to the block(no change)
    - Battery has a fresh charge (trickle charger)
    - Motor will fire over breifly with cylinders primed when plugs out

Here is the funny part.
    - Motor cranks over with lugs removed (rear cylinder spews more oil than front)
    - Rear plug out front plug in (motor cranks)
    - Front plug out rear plug in (motor does not crank)

Tried the jump with the truck with the motor off with no help for extra oomph.

One issue is that I was anxious to get started and bought cheapo batteries at Walmart (Everstart crap - Had problems on motorcycles before with them), But this shouldn't be causing all my problems.

Actually ski 2 battery must be low since it no longer starts.

Stock Battery YB16CLB I bought Everstart 16CL-B (Fits perfectly)

Questions are:
    What could cause ski 2 not to crank with rear plug installed?
    What is a decent replacement battery at a reasonable cost?
    Thanks
    Gary

Warner Robins, GA Home of the 2007 All-Star Little League World Champions!
    There is no decent battery at a reasonable cost. Just fess up the $75 and buy a Deka ETX16L gel battery. It has well over the stock cca's, and lasts twice as long..."if" you never let it go dead.

That's not too bad. These crappy Everstart batteries were $50 each. Where do I get them? Only nice thing about the Everstart batteries is I can buy and return them local.

Any clue on the cranking problem?

http://www.eastpenn-deka.com/ Click on find a dealer, and enter your zip for a local place to purchase.