SL750 Piston Replacement question

First off... total noob here to the PWC scene. But I am a good mechanic and a good paint and body man as well.

I heard someone state that a piston could be replaced without pulling the motor. Is this true and if so can someone explain it to me?

Here is my situation:
    199x SL750 with the classic hole in the PTO piston. It's the cylinder closest to the pump. (please correct me if I'm wrong)

The watercraft is in excellent shape and has been stored assembled for the last 5 years. If I opt to pull the motor I'm going to put it back better than stock but not too wild. Cradin Industries has offered to donate some high performance coatings to the internal components. Mainly the pistons and skirts.

Any advice from the experts?

It's super easy to replace a piston on these engines. I think a few guys have even done so while on the water.

1. Remove the water-rail that sits on top all 3 heads.
    2. Remove the 6 cylinder head nuts, and pull the head.
    3. Remove the 4 jug nuts at the base of the jug, and pull the jug.
    4. Remove 1 of the wrist-pin C-clips. Make sure you don't drop it in the crank case!
    5. Slide the wrist-pin out of the piston. It might be a bitch to remove, depending on the condition of the piston.
    6. Drink a beer.
    7. Clean the cylinder base & crankcase and install a new gasket with RTV.
    8. Install new piston. Make sure the arrow points forward. Make sure the C-clips are seated correctly.
    9. Reverse process of removing.
    10. Depending on the condition of the head gasket, it can be reused. If it's garbage, buy a new OEM one.

I think that about does it.

Do you know what caused the hole in the piston? Do you know what condition the carbs are in? How does the compression check out on the other 2 cylinders? If you haven't done so already, upgrade your fuel system with new 1/4" line and triple outlet fuel pump.