Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

In Need Of Help w/2000 SLX

I had picked up , a 2000 polaris slx 1200 fast(69 on smooth water)
    had it for about 2 months, I went to take it out and it went like it normally does then I had lost power to it. Now i am lucky to do 35 on it, first one i have ever owned so i do not know them well enough to figure it, out any help would be very appreciated.

MAtt
    Last edited by rmjsvcs; 08-12-2008 at 01:49 PM. Reason: Suggested by a more knowledgable member than me

Hi Matt,

Welcome to the hulk!

Polaris Service Manuals are available here for download.

Your first ski sounds like you lost a cylinder. I'm no pro but these guys around here are, and they will surely help you.

Thank you for the quick responce, not sure what it means to have lost a cylinder, but I hope can be fixed without to much of a hassle

again thankyou

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome to the Hulk!

Your two machines both have Polaris 'domestic' 1200 engines, and are mechanically similar.

The 2000 SLX uses three carburetors and a CDI ignition system, while the 1999 Genesis has the Ficht electronic fuel injection system.

This means that the electrical, fuel, and ignition diagnostics are completely different between the two machines.

1999 was the very first year for Ficht fuel injection on Polaris, and there were some changes in later model years. Most of the info in the 2002 Service Manual will still apply.

I suggest you create a separate thread for one of the machines, and continue this thread for the other. You can edit your first post in Advanced Mode to change the title to something more descriptive, so others can see what year and model you need help with.

Update your online Profile, which helps us keep track of who has what, and where.

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by rmjsvcs View Post
    ... not sure what it means to have lost a cylinder...