Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Helicoil Question

Stripped out my carb holes on my Rotary Valve cover. I bought a helicoil kit M8-1.0. Checked the bolt and thread size at Home Depot.

Question is I thread the bolt in a loose helicoil and the hole is way too big. Since I have never used these before I am hoping the helicoil will reduce in size as it is threaded into the tapped hole since it is only stainless wire.

Do you use lock tight for the helicoil as it is inserted?

Thanks Gary

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by kocomo View Post
    Stripped out my carb holes on my Rotary Valve cover. I bought a helicoil kit M8-1.0. Checked the bolt and thread size at Home Depot. I thought these bolts were M8 x 1.25?

Question is I thread the bolt in a loose helicoil and the hole is way too big. Since I have never used these before I am hoping the helicoil will reduce in size as it is threaded into the tapped hole since it is only stainless wire. You are correct.

Do you use lock tight for the helicoil as it is inserted? I like to. Makes me more confident it will stay put.

Thanks Gary

+1
    Bolts are 8 x1.25

Crap Crap Crap. Test threaded at Home Depot into the M8-1.0 and bound up on the M8-1.25.
    Apparently that was messed up. Just did a measurement and sure enough it is M8-1.25 as stated.

Crap Crap Crap.

Need to order another kit.

Quote Originally Posted by kocomo View Post
    Crap Crap Crap. Test threaded at Home Depot into the M8-1.0 and bound up on the M8-1.25.
    Apparently that was messed up. Just did a measurement and sure enough it is M8-1.25 as stated.

Crap Crap Crap.

Need to order another kit.
    I just did the same thing on my GSX. I went to Ace hardware, they gave me the helicoil kit as well as the speacial size tap to tap the hole for the helicoil.

No need to loctite in place. Mine wokred like a charm, so far. I haven't taken the bolt back off since!

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by pdxrealtor View Post