mfd stuck on the clock

I guys I'm new to the sit. Ive been looking for info on the mfd i found some but not what i see thats wrong with mine.It's stuck on the clock. I unpluged it in the back of the mdf it worked for about 10 min then when back to the clock. It's a 1997 slt780. any info.

It will default to clock after 10 min of non use.. Does it wake up when you push the mode button?

It doesn't do anything when it goes back to the clock. I was riding it this after noon and it just went to the clock and it wouldn't do anything.

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    near Toronto, Canada
    Quote Originally Posted by woodystang View Post
    It doesn't do anything when it goes back to the clock. I was riding it this after noon and it just went to the clock and it wouldn't do anything.
    Welcome to the Hulk!

You can download the Polaris 1992-1998 Service Manual here.

Attached is some more info on the MFD.

When you are riding, and the MFD is awake, does the MFD show RPM? The Yellow wire from the engine tells the MFD to wake up, and also signals the engine RPM to the MFD.

The Yellow wire also controls battery charging via the LR regulator. If the MFD is not showing RPM, then check for proper battery charging. Use a multi-meter at the battery terminals. Be careful not to short the battery posts, and put the plastic battery cover back in place afterwards. Should be about 14 volts with the engine running. If you are seeing only 12.x volts, then the charging system is not working, and you need to investigate further.

Sometimes the MFD just needs to be reset. First, disconnect the battery negative wire. Wait a minute or more (some owners have reported that it took several hours of disconnection before their MFD would reset properly), then reconnect the battery negative.